(February 27th, 2023) – The North Central Kansas Technical College – Information Technology (IT)

Program returned home from competing at the State Leadership Conference for Business Professionals of America held in Wichita on February 16-18, 2023. 

Business Professionals of America helps prepare students for careers in business, computer, web, design and office occupations.  Technical Colleges and Community Colleges participate in the post-secondary organization. 

The programs brought home 9 first places, 2 second places, and 5 Top 10 Finishes.  The individual placings are stated below. 

Competitions are held in financial, administrative, information technology, management, marketing, human resources and open events.  The events require students to solve technical and business problems in an allotted amount of time, present their ideas to judges from their respective fields, or take tests that cover their area of interest. 

All of these students are now eligible to compete in Anaheim, CA at the National Leadership Conference.  They will compete April 26 – 30, 2023.  The instructors for the Information Technology Program are Ashley Wiles and Zach Warner, with Ashley Wiles serving as the BPA advisor. 

Additional Information about the Information Technology can be accessed at www.ncktc.edu. 

These students will be conducting several fundraisers, and accepting sponsorships, over the next two months to pay for their trip to nationals.  Any financial support from their communities would be greatly appreciated. 


Computer Network Technology 

  1.  Joseph Buhler 

Device Configuration & Troubleshooting 

  1.  Haden Smith 

Network Administration Using Cisco 

  1. Joseph Buhler
  2. Logan Fickes

Network Design Team 

  1.  Xander Heidrick, Daniel McDill, Haden Smith 

Fundamental Desktop Publishing 

  1.  Colton Czapanskiy 

Graphic Design Promotion 

  1.  Colton Czapanskiy 
  2.  Olivia Rolph 

Fundamentals of Web Design 

  1.  Macie Scott 

Website Design Team 

  1.  Czapanskiy, Scott, Rolph 

Podcast Production Team 

  1.  Cooper Adams, Gage Alstatt, Logan Fickes, Connor Flinn 

Visual Design Team- Pilot 

  1.  Joseph Buhler, Hunter Reynolds 

Open: Computer Programming Concepts >> Logan Fickes 

Open: Information Technology Concepts >> Xander Heidrick, Haden Smith, Joseph Buhler, Daniel McDill 

Open: Parliamentary Procedures >> Logan Fickes