Hays Campus students receiving scholarships from the NCK TECH Foundation and other benefactors were honored with a reception October 2.    Recipients, in many cases, had the opportunity to meet their scholarship contributors.

One such recipient met her benefactor but not for the first time.  Vernon and Margaret Becker established a nursing scholarship for a student enrolled in the program at the Hays Campus. The recipient for this inaugural scholarship was Emily Duncan. Duncan first met Vernon Becker when he was in the hospital and she was a student nurse. A student nurse, crafting her skills, helped take care of Mr. Becker. He was so impressed with the student nurse (Duncan) that after his hospital stay both he and his wife, Margaret decided it was time to give back.  The Becker’s have established the scholarship and as Vernon exclaimed, “I couldn’t be happier that Emily was the first recipient. “

With new scholarships established, a long-standing tradition of scholarship benefactors continues. Once such contributor is Dr. Robert Severance. Dr. Severance became the second director of the North Central Area Vocational-Technical School in July 1967 and served in that capacity until 1992. He has continues to be a tremendous advocate of technical education and along with his wife established several scholarship opportunities. The Robert and Dorcas Severance Family Scholarship awards several students on both the Hays and Beloit Campus. His continued financial contributions along with his enthusiasm for NCK Tech only continues to increase. Recipients this year for the Hays Campus included Connor Born – Welding and Kreighton Meyers – Carpentry.


A complete list of Hays Campus recipients and their benefactors from all scholarships include:

8-Man Football
Connor Born – Welding
Mason Doll – PHAC
Drake Steinbrock – Electrical

Robert and Dorcas Severance Family
Connor Born – Welding
Kreighton Meyers – Carpentry

Bob and Patricia Schmidt General
Connor Born – Welding

Charles N. Tuley
Zachary Poppe – Automotive

Clara and Archie Walters Memorial
Kilie Unrein – Nursing

Dane Hansen Career Enhancement
Diane Holbrook – Nursing
Said Lahrairi – Nursing
Nessa Larsen – Nursing
Payton Littrell – Nursing
Austin Seltmann – Electrical
Shannon Toll – Nursing

Bob and Patricia Schmidt Nursing
Emily Bellerive
Amelia Borell
Alexa Brull
Helen Kelsi Coss
Emily Duncan
Makooshla Frier
Ruth Hair
Gwendoly Housley
Katie Kreutzer
Alia Larson
Dallas Mead
Amanda Migchelbrink
Kayla Reed
Haley Schothaler
Mandy Wallgren
Leneal Weiser
Tyra Younie

Hays Medical Center Volunteers (Nursing)
Melissa Pummell
Juana Lira Ramirez
Tori Tebo
Kilie Unrein

Judy Murphy Memorial
Mandy Wallgren – Nursing

Mike and Jeanie Michaelis
Kreighton Meyers – Carpentry
Kilie Unrein – Nursing

Vernon and Margaret Becker
Emily Duncan – Nursing

William Yeager
Zachary Poppe – Automotive

NCK TECH’s Endowment Association and Foundation enables the college to provide scholarships, materials, buildings and equipment to train individuals to be successful and productive. Students received over $153,000 in scholarships. To learn more about NCK Tech, visit our website at www.ncktc.edu .